Steamtown National Historic Site

Steamtown National Historic Site

1-entrance

Recently my wife and I decided to take a day trip to Steamtown National Historic Site in Scranton Pennsylvania. I wanted to go there because I read that they had 1 of only 8 remaining Big Boy locomotives. When we arrived I was surprised to see it there in the parking lot along with a few other locomotives. That alone was worth the ride, but there was much more to see once we bought our tickets and entered the park.

The first thing we saw was the roundhouse and turntable with more steam locomotives around it. The roundhouse which was half museum was very well done and filled with the history of steam locomotives and travel as well as a restored mail sorting car and a business class passenger car and a few other cars and locos. The other half was storage where there were more locomotives. It was all very interesting to see.

We then decided to take the guided tour of the repair shop behind the roundhouse. The tour guide was very knowledgeable on everything steam related as well as the history of the rail yard we were in and in my opinion the highlight of the museum. It was a very worthwhile trip.  If you are in the area it shouldn’t be missed.   Here are some pictures I took while I was there. I hope you enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

